Faculty and Staff

Awards and Recognition

Howard F. Rudd, Jr. Distinguished Faculty Award for Service Leadership

In 2023, the Howard F. Rudd, Jr. Distinguished Faculty Award for Service Leadership was bestowed on David Wyman, Ph.D., associate professor of entrepreneurship. The annual endowed Rudd award honors the legacy of Dr. Howard F. Rudd, Jr., Dean Emeritus and founding Dean of the School of Business. The prestigious award recognizes outstanding, high-performing business professors who lead in Rudd's spirit and example to advance the mission and global vision of the business school. It is also the highest valued award for faculty at the College of Charleston.

This endowed award is made possible by philanthropic gifts from Anita Zucker, chairperson and CEO of the InterTech Group, and Justin R. McLain, '98, executive chairman, Endeavor, and manager partner, Duart Mull. Both Zucker and McLain are members of the School of Business Board of Governors.

2023 Faculty Awards

Each year, the faculty development committee selects the top faculty in four distinctive categories: teaching, service, research and adjunct teaching. These awards are announced and presented annually at the April faculty meeting. Each winner receives an honorary $1,000 stipend and recognition plaque.

  1. Teaching: Maryam Mahdikhani, Ph.D., assistant professor of supply chain and information management
  2. Service: Beatriz Maldonado, Ph.D., associate professor of economics
  3. Research: Jennifer Barhorst, Ph.D., assistant professor of marketing 
  4. Distinguished Adjunct Faculty: Brittany Denis, MBA, Supply Chain and Information Management

Bank of America Distinguished Teaching Professorship

The Bank of America Teaching Professorship is awarded to a roster faculty member designated by their colleagues as embodying the highest standards and commitment to teaching excellence in the School of Business at the College of Charleston.

Alexis Carrico, MBA, instructor, Department of Management and Marketing